Sixteen Participants Receive BC Games Leadership Bursary at 2024 BC Winter Games

Athletes, youth coaches, and officials taking part in the Lhtako Quesnel 2024 BC Winter Games were invited to apply for the BC Games Leadership Bursary. Supported by Canadian Tire Jumpstart Charities, this bursary aims to recognize participants under 19 years of age who have achieved in academics and sport while going above and beyond in their communities through leadership and volunteer activities.

Sixteen recipients were awarded a $1,000 bursary to support their future sport or educational pursuits.

Kootenays (Zone 1)
Jasmine Chow – Artistic Gymnastics (Castlegar)
Sylas Welch – Alpine Skiing (Kimberley)

Thompson-Okanagan (Zone 2)
Annika Hay – Ringette (Kelowna)
Daylen Zachary – Ringette (Salmon Arm)

Fraser Valley (Zone 3)
Saanvi Lad – Karate (Langley)
Lachlan Sandford – Wheelchair Basketball (Mission)

Fraser River (Zone 4)
Weisen (Wilson) Hu – Badminton (Coquitlam)
Kierana Laut – Speed Skating (Coquitlam)

Vancouver-Coastal (Zone 5)
Vania Amani – Karate (North Vancouver)
Nika Ghaderi – Badminton (Richmond)

Vancouver Island-Central Coast (Zone 6)
Yashita Kaku – Karate (Victoria)
Rio Garcia – Judo (Shawnigan Lake)

North West (Zone 7)
Reese Hansen – Ringette (Terrace)
Katie Lo – Alpine Skiing (Smithers)

Cariboo-North East (Zone 8)
Sayla Forman – Artistic Gymnastics (Quesnel)
Lily Fraser – 150 Mile House (Archery)

BC Games Society - 200 - 990 Fort Street, Victoria, BC V8V 3K2